Curriculum for Wales – A Curriculum for Life

This is an exciting time for the young people of Wales. A new Curriculum for Wales is coming that will enthuse learners from 3 to 16, giving them the foundations they need to succeed in a changing word.

The new curriculum will be taught in all schools and funded non-maintained settings up to Year 7 from September 2022. It will then roll out year by year until it includes Year 11 by 20.

Parent’s Guide

Key Elements of the Curriculum for Wales:

Four Core Purposes

The four purposes of the curriculum are the shared vision and aspiration for every child and young person. They guide and direct everything we do at St. Helen’s Catholic Primary School.

In supporting the development of the four purposes, we set high expectations for all – to raise standards, tackle the attainment gap, and ensure our curriculum supports lifelong learning. The four purposes are at the heart of our new curriculum. They are the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support our children and young people to become:

  • Ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives;
  • Enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work;
  • Ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world;
  • Healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society

The new curriculum will include:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16;
  • 3 Cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence;
  • Progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16;
  • Achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.

The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

  • Expressive Arts;
  • Health and Well-being;
  • Humanities;
  • Languages, Literacy and Communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages);
  • Mathematics and Numeracy;
  • Science and Technology (including computer science).

There will also include three cross-curricular responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence. More Information about the New Curriculum can be found here


Key Dates


Campus Cymraeg

#MinistryDay Here are our Criw Cyraeg member for 2019/2020. We’re working towards our Campus Cymraeg Bronze Award this year! [...]

Blwyddyn Newydd Dda!

Blwyddyn Newydd Dda! Our Super Ambassadors have launched this month’s UNCRC Right of the Child ‘We have the right [...]

Dosbarth Lampeter Class Worship

Congratulations to Lampeter for a beautifully presented Class Worship, KS2 and parents thoroughly enjoyed your presentation which reminded us [...]